Sh. B.R. Sharma was born  on 12/07/1941 in  a   small village of Naleti in Tehsil Dehra, Distt. Kangra,  Himachal Pradesh.He came to Delhi in 1959 in search of job and was got associated  with this  Bank in  January, 1962   when  it was a small Urban Thrift and Credit Society.  He   got  associated with  the   Management  of this T&C society (which become a Co-operative Bank in Oct 1972) for  the  first  time in 1964  and continued this association till feb. 1996 i.e for 32 years as elected office bearer.  He  held   many elected posts   during   this  span  of 32  years such as Asstt.Secretary, Treasurer, Internal Auditor,  Secretary  and Director (Fin. & Admin.).  In   March 1996 he was made Managing Director and continued on this post till June 2011. During this long period of about 51 years out of which 36 years at the helms of affairs of the bank in the capacity of Elected Secretary, Elected Director (Finance & Admin.) and Managing Director the bank made a tremendous and spectacular progress.

With his untiring efforts, dedication and devotion, a small Thrift and Credit Society today has become the largest Urban Co-operative Bank of NCT of Delhi serving more than 41500 members and about 1.37 lacs other clientele.  He has been the main architect of the Bank.   After his retirement from the post of Managing Director in June 2011 the Board of Directors to make use of his long experience and expertise associated him as Chief Advisor to the Board.In this capacity he has been continuing since June 2011 and guideing and advising the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer (CEO).  He has also been bestowed with the following six awards :-





“Pride of the Country” for outstanding individual achievement and distinguished services to the nation by Chaudhary Prem Singh, Hon’ble Speaker of Delhi Assembly on 11.09.1999 on behalf of Association of Industry and Business Achievements.


“Meritorious service to the cause of Cooperative Movement” by Dr. Yoganand Shastri, Hon’ble Minister for Civil Supplies and Cooperation, Delhi Govt., on 20.11.1999 on behalf of Delhi State Cooperative Union.  


"HIMOTKARSH HIMACHALSHREE COMMUNITY UTPRERNA PURSKAR for 2005-2006" on 17/04/2006 by HIMOTKARSH SAHITYA SANSKRITI AVAM JAN KALYAN PARISHAD (REGD), UNA, HIMACHAL PRADESH, a leading voluntary organization working for the conservation of art and culture besides being engaged in other philanthropic activities for the past 33 years and enjoying patronage of renowned personalities of the country .


"SULTAN SINGH LOCHAV MEMORIAL AWARD-2006" given by Smt. Shiela Dikshit,  Hon’ble Chief Minister of Delhi on 20th November 2006,  for his commendable services of more than four decades for the cause of Co-operatives in Delhi.


"Most prestigious ""CHAUDHARY BRAHM PRAKASH MEMORIAL AWARD 2008-2009 " given by Smt. Shiela Dikshit,  Hon’ble Chief Minister of Delhi on 20th November 2009,   for his meritorious services rendered to Cooperative Movement in Delhi.


"HIMACHAL GAURAV" given by Hon’ble Dr. Karan Singh, Ex-Governer and Ex-Union Cabinet Minister on behalf of Himachal Social Bodies Federation, Delhi for his valuable contribution for Co-operatives.

He has been an active member of Delhi Urban Cooperative Banks Federation for about two decades.  


|| Back||